Alfa Romeo have formally applied for the penalty Kimi Raikkonen received in the Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix to be reviewed.Raikkonen was given a 10-second stop-go penalty for being in the wrong position when the race restarted on lap 34.
The stewards found Raikkonen had spun off at Tamburello earlier in the lap and was passed by Lewis Hamilton and Yuki Tsunoda. Under the rules, Raikkonen should have either regained the lost places or entered the pit lane and started from there.
Raikkonen’s radio messages indicate there was confusion at Alfa Romeo over whether he was allowed to regain his position. He was originally told, correctly, to repass his two rivals, but that order was later overruled.
Earlier in the race Sergio Perez was given a penalty for overtaking two drivers who passed him during a Safety Car period. As Raikkonen went off the track during a restart procedure, he was required to regain his position.
However the stewards acknowledged the potential for confusion in the rules in their original verdict on Raikkonen. Article 42.6 of the sporting regulations “indicates that should a driver fail to take his position he must enter the pit lane and can only re-join the race once the whole field has passed the pit exit,” they noted.
However another article, 42.12, “indicates that during a rolling start, once the safety car turns its lights out, ‘No driver may overtake another car on the track until he passes the Line…’ In this case, the driver caught up to the cars ahead of him between turn 13 and 14, but the Safety Car turned its lights out at approximately turn 10.
“This would appear to be a contradictory instruction and the team instructed the driver to not regain his position, fearing that this would create a safety issue in the wet conditions. They radioed the race director, but there was no time for a response between their call and the restart.
“The stewards consider it to be a further contradiction that when the cars are behind the Safety Car during a Safety Car period, the are prohibited from passing, but when they are behind the Safety Car for a restart, they are permitted to – even though the reasons for a rolling start are that the track conditions don’t permit a standing start.
“However, the rule requiring a car to enter the pit lane if it fails to regain its position is consistent amongst several championships, has been in the FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations for several years and has been consistently applied.”
The stewards had no choice but hand down a 10-second stop-go penalty as it is mandatory under the rules. As it was issued after the race, it was converted into a 30-second time penalty.
That relegated Raikkonen to 15th place. Esteban Ocon moved into ninth in place of him, and Fernando Alonso rose to 10th, scoring his first point of the season.
The review will be conducted via a video conference at 5pm today.
Raikkonen’s radio messages from the restart
Discussion between Raikkonen and his race engineer Julien Simon-Chautemps prior to the final restart:
|Simon-Chautemps||Kimi you are allowed to gain back your position.|
|Simon-Chautemps||Yes. Wait. Okay standby, stay where you are at the moment, I’ll come back to you.|
|Raikkonen||Come on, tell me.|
|Simon-Chautemps||Okay we have to stay there, apparently. We have to stay there. Stay where you are.|
|Raikkonen||Can you not overtake before the Safety Car Line?|
|Simon-Chautemps||No, apparently no, negative.|
|Simon-Chautemps||So Kimi we are P10, that’s on the right-hand side.|
|Simon-Chautemps||It’s a rolling start, rolling start, remember.|
Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and
2021 F1 season
- Aston Martin fined $450,000 for F1 budget cap violation
- Red Bull fined $7 million and lose development time for 2021 budget cap breach
- Hamilton: F1 ‘might as well not have a cost cap if the penalty is a slap on the wrist’
- Red Bull need penalty that “really hurts them” if they exceeded budget cap – Bottas
- F1 mustn’t let post-season budget cap rows become a regular occurrence